Is “The Ultimate Cowboy” the Ultimate Sandwich?

Well, finally.

After three weeks, my first official sandwich review.

In my town of Sicklerville, the prospects for authentic bar food are slim. Sure, we’ve got a Buffalo Wild Wings and a Tilted Kilt, but as I’ve stated before, I try my best to stay away from chain restaurants (especially chain sports bars, bleh).

What we do have, however, is House of Brews. House of Brews opened up a few years ago in the building of an abandoned Fuddruckers. Amazingly, I hadn’t made it over there despite it being five

This picture was taken from TripAdvisor.com. The original photographer is not credited on the site.

miles away until this past week. I’ve heard people RAVE about this place over the years. I learned during my research that the internet seems mixed on the restaurant once I checked out the Yelp reviews. Having worked in a restaurant for three years, I do know that word of mouth much more than an online review. I still wanted to try it out. Once seated, I gazed upon the sandwich menu and I found the holy grail.

The Ultimate Cowboy.

This monster includes a 16 oz burger sandwiched together by two grilled cheese and bacon buns. This ensemble wouldn’t be complete without the mountain of cheddar toppled with onion rings and drenched in bbq sauce. As a sandwich expert, this one was destined for the Gods. And now, myself.

As a journalist, I have been more than disappointed with myself leading up to writing this post because I forgot to take a picture of it. In my defense, I’d like to see you try to let this piece of sandwich artisanal beauty sit in front of you and not take a bite of it immediately. Luckily, a very disciplined TripAdvisor poster did get to capture it.

I’ve always heard the saying “too much of anything is too much”. For twenty years of life, I remember thinking that there had to be an exception to the rule. I found it in the Ultimate Cowboy. Grilled Cheese with bacon is my favorite thing in the world, only second to burgers and third to onion rings. All of them together does sound like a match made in heaven. However, I can confirm that myself and my arteries can disagree.

That being said, I finished it. I finished every bite of it. I wish I could say I regretted it. However, I’d never do it again. I’ll call it a one night stand.

If you would’ve asked me before I started this blog what the best concept for a sandwich is, I probably would have dreamt up something like the Ultimate Cowboy. I do feel as though I’m beginning to learn that less is more. Simple yet elegant.

I hope I don’t make this mistake again… maybe.

Leave a comment